a voracious reader

When do you exactly say that you are one?

After your 100th book?

Should it all be text books or self-help books? Does a comic book count or a book by Danielle Steel?

Shady…

 

 

I remember my "lola" (grandma in our native language) reading the Bible out-loud in the wee hours of the morning, before sunrise.

I remember my mom, not allowing us to run and play on weekends until I've read one story (in English – not my native language) from a row of red hardbound books filled with short stories in it. And to ensure that I did read it, I would have to recount the story to her. I am at least 95% sure this part is true – was at a very young age then to remember it clearly. 5% tells me it's a story I made up in my mind. One of those stories – that adolescents weave in their imagination to add-on to the reasons why they hate their parents – am past that. An adult now. Over that teenage rebellion and hatred against parents, teachers or any authority for that matter.

I remember finishing my English Literary book even before classes had started.

 

I've just finished this book, "GENTLEMEN & PLAYERS" by Joanne Harris. And I have never been so intrigued and perplexed as to how to rate a book, hence the blog – as it won't let me sleep. I have been captured by Lee Child's "Persuader" that it lead me to buy and read almost 9 books from the Jack Reacher series in hopes that he would redeem himself and capture my interest again as what the "Persuader" had done. But to no avail. But "Gentlemen & Players" took me back to those weekends where I barely understood what I was reading. That hurried feeling of finishing the story and running out the door, out to the streets but held down in my seat with the intent of trying to understand and decipher the words in front of me. Back then I had to know what I was reading or else it would be pointless to finish the story and not be able to tell the story back to my mom. Now, it's that feeling of failure, that feeling of grasping at straws – trying to understand the story line, where it was going, not being able to predict the end or at least have that inclination as to how the book would end.

 

Yes, it is well written. Complicated for me. (Who's to say that you'd see it that way if you do decide to read it.) With Joanne (first name basis laugh) injecting a lot of latin and french one liners. With the book weaved like you are reading 2 stories that inter-twine one way or the other. For starters, the latin and french phrases had me scrambling for my phone for google translate. Secondly, in the middle of chapter 4 (I think), I got so lost (I'll explain in detail – in a bit) that I had re-read most points in the previous chapters. To disentangle it, let's regard it as a movie. Ah, "Harry Potter"! Imagine the movie being told from 2 sides. 1 from Harry's point of view then the other from Lord Voldemort's point of view. Now take those 2 stories (one in reality – but 2 truths, depending on who is narrating) weave them together inter-changing one after the other. Not to mention the twists like Severus Snape. Get it? Well, the book was like that. 2 Truths but 1 story which meshed all together at that last chapter. Took me a while to get the trend on where the 1st truth ends and where the 2nd truth starts. I did catch on but not sooner than I wished and then at the end she twisted it so that I had to narrate in my head the reasons where I based my conclusions but in defeat went back to some previous chapters and double checked my understanding of the story…. TWISTED! No, it's not the hunger games type of twisted but TWISTED in sorts that it challenges the readers to a point of mocking — "You think you know how it will end?"

 

 

So, do I consider myself a voracious reader? No. I have seen my grandmas & granddads read more than I do. I had seen books upon books in our library at home which I don't think my mom or dad just bought for display. But I do share their love for reading. I remember going to the library when I was in college – not because it had A/C and I can sleep there but because they had books written by Shakespeare or of Sir Thomas More and the likes – books written in Old English that just captures something in me… to the surprise of my comrades!

 

 

10Am. Both lounging in the sofa while he taps on the keypad, the machine beeping softly as he reads his updates. Her head in a book. Soft music in the background… a perfect weekend.

"Memoriam eius ex procul praeterita"

Leave a Reply

